Bird . Club . Pontivy       

 

Who are we?

We are men and women who love birds, who have become, through circumstance, amateur breeders. It’s a way of relaxing, learning, creating and meeting new people.

“We carry out this activity as an expression of a true passion, in the capacity of amateurs”

Although the majority of us do not have any in-depth scientific training, we have acquired an expertise and knowledge of indigenous and exotic species thanks to the results of shared experience through generations of amateur breeders.

Our competence is born of traditional techniques, which are perfected each day by integrating the most current information from animal production science. Our breeding farms are of variable and different significance according to the different types bred. They are adapted to the availability of each one. This is a familial pastime. It’s above all a ‘sentimental’ and cultural activity which isn’t about making money.

One in seven households owns birds, and 50,000 breeders are grouped in associations. We function according to the proper rules for associations established with the ‘law of 1901’. The association structure put in place allows a framework and a management of amateur breeders. It is the link between amateur breeders, providing them with information. It assures the organisation of diverse shows (exhibitions, local, regional, national and international competitions), technical meetings (specialist clubs, monthly meetings, etc.).

 

What do we do?

We are trying to master the reproduction of numerous species of birds (Psittacines, Columbines, etc.) some of which are in a critical situation in their natural habitat.

Each year we breed birds which are identified thanks to the use of the marking system of circular, closed metal bands.

Our goal is to establish reproductive and domesticated stocks of lots of these species, with the aim of a production in numbers destined to substitute or limit the reduction in nature. Our activities assure the prosperity of stable stocks in captivity, destined for approved breeding. We contribute thus, in our own way and at our own level, to the protection of the natural heritage and to the development of social relations via a cultural exchange between bird breeders of different ages and social backgrounds

Emma Paulo
Holding & Paulo Ltd

Oiseau . Club . Pontivyen       

 

Qui sommes-nous ?

Des hommes et des femmes amoureux des oiseaux, devenus au fil des circonstances des éleveurs amateurs, une façon de se détendre, d'apprendre, de créer, et de nous rencontrer.

"Nous exerçons cette activité comme l'expression d'une vraie passion en tant qu'amateur"

Sans formation scientifique approfondie pour la plupart d'entre nous, nous avons acquis un savoir-faire et une connaissance des espèces indigènes et exotiques grâce aux résultats de l'expérience transmise par des générations d'éleveurs amateurs.

Notre compétence est issue de pratiques anciennes, qui se perfectionnent chaque jour en intégrant les données les plus actuelles de la zootechnie. Nos élevages sont d'importances variables et différents suivant les espèces élevées. Ils sont adaptés aux disponibilités de chacun. Ce loisir est familial. C'est avant tout une activité "sentimentale" et culturelle d'où l'aspect mercantile est exclu.

Un foyer sur sept possède des oiseaux, 50 000 éleveurs sont regroupés en associations. Nous fonctionnons selon la réglementation propre aux associations "loi de 1901". La structure associative mise en place permet un encadrement et une gestion des éleveurs amateurs.   Elle est le lien entre les éleveurs amateurs en assurant l'information. Elle assure l'organisation de diverses manifestations (expositions, concours locaux, régionaux, nationaux et internationaux), de rencontres techniques (clubs spécialisés, réunions mensuelles, etc.).

 

Que faisons-nous ?

Nous essayons de maitriser la reproduction de nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux (psittacidés, colombidés, etc.) dont certaines sont en situation critique dans leur milieu naturel.

Chaque année nous faisons naitre des oiseaux qui sont identifiés grâce à l'utilisation du système de marquage par bague annulaire métallique de type fermé.

Notre but est l'établissement de souches reproductrices domestiquées de beaucoup de ces espèces, en vue d'une production en nombre destinée à se substituer ou à limiter le prélèvement dans la nature. Nos activités assurent la prospérité de souches stables en captivité, destinées à l'élevage d'agrément. Nous contribuons ainsi, à notre façon et à notre niveau, à la protection du patrimoine naturel et au développement des relations sociales par un échange culturel entre les éleveurs d'âges et de milieux sociaux différents.